Cupcakes & Frostings

Cupcakes are great for all occasions, many use them as a wedding cake, birthday cake, for christenings, baby showers, hens, favours, gifts etc. They’ve become so popular in the last few years, I believe it’s because they are so easy to distribute at a party (instead of cutting up a cake) and they come in so many different flavours, colours and decorations.

My favourite cupcake is a vanilla cupcake, you can’t go wrong with this flavour! Everyone loves vanilla, right?

This is all you need for my vanilla cupcakes (makes 11-12)

FullSizeRender[1]

125g softened, butter (I used stork margarine – it makes your cakes incredibly light and fluffy)

125g caster sugar

2 large eggs

125g self raising flour, sifted

2tbsp semi skimmed milk

1tsp vanilla extract

FullSizeRender[3]

Weigh and add all the ingredients into a mixing bowl, then mix until well combined.

You can use a hand held mixer for this.

To ensure your cupcakes are the same size, use a ice cream scoop (I used the cake boss range) it works every time! My cupcake tray is from the Jamie Oliver Tefal range, I’ve had it for years (it’s amazing!)

Bake the cakes in a preheated oven at 180 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

FullSizeRender[7]
I baked mine for 17 minutes.
Whilst the cakes are baking, make your buttercream icing.

For this you will need:

FullSizeRender[8]

75g softened, butter or margarine

2tbsp milk

1tsp vanilla extract

225g sifted icing sugar

Food colouring (optional) – I used a lavender purple droplet colour from the ClassiKool range (they have amazing food colouring products which gives a vibrant colour with only a few drops)

IMG_7933

To ice your cupcakes you can either use a spatula or nozzles, I’ll use a nozzle (my favourite is a rose tip nozzle)

FullSizeRender[11]

Allow the cupcakes to cool completely before icing.

FullSizeRender
Present your cupcakes however you feel, my choice is a slate cupcake stand. I’m in love with all things slate at the moment.
Enjoy your cupcake with a cup of tea (that’s what I always do), you could also have your cupcakes as a centrepiece at the table or for a tea party but that’s another blog for another day.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

