Key Lime Pie

Key lime pie is an American dessert made of Key lime juice, egg yolks, and sweetened condensed milk in a pie crust (in this recipe I will use a biscuit base). 

This is my second favourite dessert! I love it and so does my husband, I love the sweet and slightly crumbly biscuit base with the acidic/citrus flavour of the limes in the custard-like mixture topped with whipped cream. This dessert has a perfect balance of flavour and textures. 

Here’s what you will need:

Ingredients:

397g condensed milk 

300g Hob Nobs

300ml double cream

150g butter, melted

finely grated zest and juice of 4 limes

3 medium egg yolks

1 tbsp icing sugar

Method:

  • Heat the oven to 160C/fan 140C/gas 3. Whizz the biscuits to crumbs in a food processor (or put in a strong plastic bag and bash with a rolling pin). Mix with the melted butter and press into the base and up the sides of a 22cm loose-based tart tin with the back of a spoon (I used mini sandwich tins with loose bases). Bake in the oven for 10 minutes. Remove and cool.

Click here to buy the mini sandwich tin

  • Separate the three egg yokes and put them in a large bowl and whisk for a minute with electric beaters. 

Kim’s tip: to separate the egg yolk from the egg whites I always use my fingers as a sieve.  

  • Add the condensed milk and whisk for 3 minutes. 

  • Then zest and juice the limes and the zest and juice and whisk again for 3 minutes. 


  • Pour the filling into the cooled base then put back in the oven for 15 minutes. Cool then chill for at least 3 hours or overnight (I left mine overnight and it was perfectly chilled)

  • When you are ready to serve, carefully remove one of the mini pies from the tin and put on a serving plate. I decorated my plate with a mango and passion fruit coulis I previously made (recipe will be on my blog soon)

  • To decorate, softly whip together the cream and icing sugar. Dollop or pipe the cream onto the top of the pie and finish with a fruit of your choice (I chose a raspberry  but any fruit would do.)


Enjoy!!! This is absolutely delicious and great for a dinner party! You can prepare it in advance. 

Leave a Reply

